Stillwater News Press

December 11, 2013

Cowboys Earn 11 Spots on 2013 All-Big 12 Teams

By NewsPress Staff
Stillwater NewsPress

STILLWATER, Okla. — IRVING, Texas — The 2013 All-Big 12 Conference football teams were announced Wednesday, with Oklahoma State earning a conference-best 11 spots. Selections are made by the league’s 10 head coaches, who are not permitted to vote for their own players.

OSU’s first team honorees included senior offensive lineman Parker Graham, senior defensive tackle Calvin Barnett, senior linebacker Shaun Lewis and senior cornerback Justin Gilbert. It is Barnett’s second-straight first team All-Big 12 selection.

The Cowboys’ second- team selections included senior quarterback Clint Chelf, senior fullback Kye Staley, junior Josh Stewart (selected as a receiver and as a returner), senior defensive end Tyler Johnson, senior linebacker Caleb Lavey and senior safety Daytawion Lowe. It is Staley’s second-consecutive season to be named to the all-conference second team.

Oklahoma State tied Baylor with the most athletes honored with 10, but Stewart’s honors as a receiver and returner gave the Cowboys the most selections in the league with 11. OSU also had the most defensive selections with six, while Baylor was the next closest with four. OSU’s five offensive spots were second only to Baylor’s six.

The versatile Graham has started all 12 games on the Cowboys’ offensive line this season, five times at left tackle and seven as the right guard, and helped paved the way for an OSU offense that averages 40 points and 440 total yards per game.

Barnett, from Tulsa, was a force for the Cowboys in the trenches as a senior, notching 26 tackles, including four for loss, as well as a pair of sacks, five quarterback hurries and a forced fumble.

Lewis has been a force for an OSU unit that ranks 14th nationally in scoring. One of the nation’s top cornerbacks and a finalist for the Thorpe Award, Gilbert leads the Big 12 with six interceptions, two of which he returned for touchdowns, and also has seven pass breakups and 40 tackles.

Chelf has thrown for 1,792 yards and 15 touchdowns, and the senior signal caller also ranks as OSU’s third-leading rusher with 321 yards and six scores. He ranks among the Big 12’s best in pass efficiency (136.3) and total offense (192.1 yards per game).

Staley is in his sixth year at Oklahoma State after fighting through injures throughout his career. He is in the midst of his most productive season as a Cowboy. He has always  been a big factor in the blocking game, but scored the first two rushing touchdowns of his career against then-No. 3 Baylor on Nov. 23.

Stewart leads the Cowboys in catches this year with 52 for 623 yards. He ranks No. 2 nationally with two punt return touchdowns and No. 4 nationally with 18.2 yards per return. His 95-yard punt return score against TCU was an OSU and Big 12 record.

Tyler Johnson is the leading tackler on OSU’s defensive line with 47. He leads the team with four sacks and returned a fumble 54 yards for a touchdown at Iowa State.

OSU’s leading tackler, Lavey’s 87 stops ranks 11th in the Big 12 this season. He also ranks in the top 10 in the league in tackles for loss (12.5), interceptions (4) and fumbles forced (3) and has added 2.5 sacks.

Lowe stands as the Cowboys’ second-leading tackler in 2013 with 80 stops. He’s also intercepted three passes and broken up three more while forcing a pair of fumbles and recovering two.

Several Cowboys were named honorable mentions for the All-Big 12 teams and for the conference’s annual awards, including Barnett  (Defensive Lineman of the Year), James Castleman (Defensive Lineman), Gilbert (Returner; Special Teams Player of the Year), Graham (Offensive Lineman of the Year), Tracy Moore (Receiver), Emmanuel Ogbah (Defensive Lineman; Defensive Freshman of the Year), Stewart (Special Teams Player of the Year), Brandon Webb (Offensive Lineman) and Sam Wren (Defensive Newcomer of the Year).