Stillwater News Press

December 14, 2013

Stillwater comes out as victors

By Andrew Glover
Stillwater NewsPress

PERRY, Okla. — After Friday’s quarterfinals Stillwater wrestling coach Doug Chesbro said his team’s performance in Saturday’s morning’s competition would decide the tournament. Entering the finals, Chesbro was right as the Pioneers held the lead and scored 262.50 points to win the Perry Tournament of Champions at John Divine Hall.

“The semifinals probably did it,” Chesbro said. “We scored more points in that round. You push six kids in the finals and have four kids win in the consolation finals that’s hard to beat. You start placing people that’s when you start winning tournaments. We placed 11 people.”

Stillwater won five of six finals matches. Benny Teegarden trailed late against Yukon’s Boo Lewallen in the 126-pound finals. Down by five in the last minute, Teegarden quickly changed the momentum as he scored a takedown which was just in bounds and earned the pin with :30 left in the third to pick up the win. Teegarden celebrated by holding his head gear in the air. Kaid Brock followed winning a 6-5 decision in a back-and-forth dual against Sand Springs’ Cody Karstetter in the 132-pound finals. Moran won with a fall halfway through the second period in the 138 pound finals. Joe Smith controlled the 152-pound weight class finals with an 11-5 decision over Perry’s Colton Looper. Chandler Rogers won the 170-pound weight class. Jordan Dieringer fell in the 182-pound class finals with a 5-2 decision against Blackwell’s Sam Schuermann.

“Benny Teegarden pulling one out at the end is extremely exciting,” Chesbro said. “Kaid beat a kid that had just beaten a three-time state champion. There were state champions all over that weight class and he won. Joe dominates his weight class. Tristan earns a fall in the finals. Unknown to the people out there. In the 170 finals you have two Oklahoma State signees going at it out here. Two of the best kids in the nation.”

Also placing for the Pioneers was Tyler Dieringer (106), Andrew Nieman (113), and Jacob Fontanez, who all got third. C.J. Citizen finished fourth in the 195-pound weight class and Chase Lane finished sixth at 145 pounds.

The Maroons finished second with 225.50 points. Noah Nida won the 120-pound weight class with a 4-3 decision over Sand Springs Jose Jiminez. David Thomas won the 160-pound weight class with a 5-2 victory over Sand Springs’ Lane Lettich. Garrett Beier finished his domination of the 195-pound weight class with a fall on Muskogee’s Cori Andrews. Perry coach Ronnie Delk said he thought his finalist wrestled well.

"Hunter Condit just has to find a takedown,” Delk said. “Colton Looper wrestled Joe Smith, someone who is ranked nationally and tougher than nails. We gave guys too much credit and we have to wrestle our matches.”

Hunter Condit lost by decision in the 145-pound finals along with Looper’s loss to Smith. What proved costly for Perry was its wrestlers that lost Friday, not being able to battle through the consolation bracket. The Maroons only had two battle for third place and both lost. Riley Betchan fell in the 170-pound weight class to Alex Son of Chanute. Bo Montez lost to Kyler Childers of Sand Springs in the 220-pound consolation final.

“They lost a lot of tough matches in the medal rounds,” Delk said. “We had a couple of upsets that cost us the tournament title.”

Stillwater will face some of the wrestlers it saw in the tournament, when it faces Blackwell on the road Tuesday. Perry will host defending Class 4A state champion Tuttle on Tuesday.