Stillwater News Press

Local News

April 2, 2013

Candidates with Oklahoma State ties win Stillwater City Council election

Former Cushing police chief elected to Board of Commissioners; Perkins voters raise sales tax

STILLWATER, Okla. — Stillwater residents elected two candidates with Oklahoma State University ties to the City Council on Tuesday.

Gina Noble garnered 63.3 percent of the vote to oust Philip Pina for Seat 2. Noble is a clinical assistant in OSU’s School of Media and Strategic Communications.

“It just shows you what you can do when everyone works together for a common goal and we all just love Stillwater,” Noble said.

Pina was appointed to Seat 2 in April 2012 after John Bartley was elected mayor.

Seat 1 city councilor Joe Weaver easily retained his seat. He received 78.4 percent of the vote to defeat Micah Lefebvre. Weaver is OSU’s vice president of administration and finance.

 “This isn’t about partisan politics, it’s about serving,” Weaver said.

Former Cushing police chief Terry Brannon defeated incumbent Carey Seigle for Seat 3 on the Cushing Board of Commissioners. Brannon captured 77 percent of the ballots cast.

“I am humbled by the trust of the people of Cushing to serve them again,” Brannon said.

Perkins residents overwhelming approved an additional half-percent sales tax, which will fund improvements for the city’s police, fire and emergency management department’s. Yes votes accounted for 70 percent of the 110 ballots cast.

The Perkins sales tax will increase to 8.75 percent.


Votes unofficial until certified by county election boards


Cushing Commission

Office 3

4 of 4 precincts

Francis Carey Seigle     94

Terry Brannon            322

City of Perkins


Half percent sales tax

1 of 1 precincts

For                              77

Against                        33

Stillwater City Council

21 of 21 precincts

Seat 1

Joe Weaver                1,193        

Micah LeFebvre          328

Seat 2

Philip Pina                  557

Gina Noble                 962


Agra Board of Trustees

1 of 1 precincts

Ronald Pendergraff       45

Patty Roe                     12

Kim Toles-Gallagher     37

Agra Board of Trustees

(unexpired term)

Misty Dawn Roe           17

Brett M. Laxton             44

Janene Stevens              32


City of Perry

7 of 7 precincts

Ward 2

Timmothy Moxley       293

Jason Kamp                139

Ward 3

Kyle Smith                   58

Darren Webb              228

Marvin Dement          152

Ward 4

Bill Streller                 272

S. VanArsdell Belk      125

Proposition 1

City manager lives within 10 miles of Perry

For                              310

Against                       128

Proposition 2

Hotel/Motel tax increase

For                             262                     

Against                       178

Red Rock

Board of Trustees

1 of 1 precincts

Rosa Tohee               17

Alberta B. Kirn            17

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Local News