Stillwater News Press

Local News

March 7, 2011

Stillwater's newest City Council member Cody Scott takes oath of office

Cody Scott takes seat as Stillwater City Council member

STILLWATER, Okla. — Councilor-elect Cody Scott became Councilor Scott at the Stillwater City Council’s regular meeting Monday after being sworn in by Judge Tanya Raun.

Scott was elected to seat 4 of the council after gathering more than 52 percent of the vote during the March 1 primary. Scott defeated Bob Cawlfield and incumbent Darrell Dougherty and was elected without needing to go to the April 5 election because he received a majority of all votes cast.

“I would like to say thank you to everyone who came out tonight,” Scott said after taking his oath of office. He repeated a statement he made on election night. “Thank you for those who voted for me, and welcome to those who didn’t.”

During a section at the end of the meeting where councilors could discuss items they would like to see scheduled for future meetings, Scott brought up one item.

He said he wanted to look into whether it was possible to install speed bumps in Couch Park. Scott added that he was asked about it by some residents.

City Manager Dan Galloway said normally the policy is to discourage speed bumps on public streets because of concerns for emergency vehicles, but a city park is different. Galloway said he would look into the matter and get back to Scott. 

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Local News