Stillwater News Press

OSU Sports

March 8, 2014

Cowboy wrestling clinches 12th Big 12 title

NORMAN, Okla. — Oklahoma State won its 12th Big 12 Conference wrestling championship Saturday with six individual conference champions — including Stillwater High graduate Chris Perry getting the better of top-ranked Andrew Howe of Oklahoma at 174 pounds.

The Cowboys ran away with the team title as they advanced nine wrestlers to the championship round. OSU finished with 98.5 poinds, 35 points clear of second place Oklahoma.

In the final championship of the tournament, Perry had over a minute of riding time to get the 3-2 decision over Howe to clinch his fourth conference crown. Howe appeared to have a third-period takedown, but it was reversed upon review and Perry held on for the win.

The finals started at 125 pounds with second seed Eddie Klimara dropping a 4-3 decision to OU’s Jarrod Patterson.

Jon Morrison came up short of scoring a bonus point victory in his 133-pound championship match against Oklahoma’s Cody Brewer, winning it 8-1. Morrison improved to 6-0 lifetime against the Sooner wrestler, winning all three matches this year by a combined 17 points.

Anthony Collica became the 19th Cowboy freshman to win a conference crown with his 4-2 decision over Iowa State’s Gabe Moreno.

At 149 pounds, Josh Kindig dropped a 6-3 decision to OU’s Kendric Maple. Alex Dieringer scored an 8-3 decision over Oklahoma’s Justin DeAngelis.

Tyler Caldwell scored the only bonus point victory in the championship matches, getting a 12-1 major decision over Michael Moreno of Iowa State.

At 184 pounds, top seed Nolan Boyd dropped a 4-3 decision to Cyclones wrestler Lelund Weatherspoon. Blake Rosholt, the only wrestler to fail to reach the finals, finished third with a 9-0 major decision at 197 pounds.

Top seeded heavyweight Austin Marsden scored a 5-2 decision over West Virginia’s A.J. Vizcarrondo.

— Staff report

Text Only | Photo Reprints
OSU Sports
Stilly Studio