Stillwater News Press

June 23, 2012

People and Places 06-24-12

Stillwater NewsPress

Shannon Watson of Osceola, Mo., has been selected as a member of the 2012-2013 Agriculture Future of America Student Advisory Team.

Watson, along with eight other college students from seven states, serves as an ambassador for the organization and will help to develop the strategic direction for the organization in 2012. Members also help plan and deliver the AFA Leaders Conference.

Watson, a senior at Oklahoma State University, majoring in agricultural communications and agricultural economics, was selected for this elite team based on her academic and leadership activities. Since April, Watson has worked with AFA staff and volunteers to plan the AFA Leaders Conference, which will be held Nov.1-4, 2012 in Kansas City, Mo. The conference will bring together more than 500 students from across the nation.

The University of Central Oklahoma Alumni Association recently named Stillwater High School graduate Kelsey Davis among its four freshmen 2012 Central Standouts.      

Davis is an elementary special education major.

She received a three-year membership to UCO’s student alumni group Central S.T.A.F., a gift from the alumni store Central Connection and inclusion in Old North, UCO’s alumni magazine.

Alexandria Colleen Briggum of Stillwater has been named to the dean’s academic honor list at Baylor University for the 2012 spring semester. Briggum is an education major. To be named to the dean’s list, a student must be an undergraduate with a minimum grade-point average of 3.7, while enrolled in a minimum of 12 semester hours.

Victoria Marie Clower of Stillwater was named to the University of Nebraska-Lincoln Deans List/Honor Roll for the 2012 spring semester.

Clower is a senior English major in the College of Arts and Sciences with a 4.0 grade-point average.

Brian Baird, Northern Oklahoma College Stillwater Nursing Division instructor, is one of three teaching award winners, for the college.

Baird received the International Teaching Excellence Award recently at a conference held in Austin. The three teaching excellence award winners are Dr. Cathy Moore, language arts division instructor and certified reading specialist (Tonkawa campus); Andrea Appleman, Science and Mathematics Division instructor (Enid) also won the award.

The NISOD International Conference on Teaching and Leadership Excellence is designed not only to celebrate the award winners’ accomplishments but also to provide nationally recognized professional development opportunities for community college faculty and administrators.

NOC Vice President for Academic Affairs Dr. Judy Colwell was selected to present one of the professional development sessions at the conference. She spoke about the types of support that part-time faculty need and want. Also attending the conference were NOC President Dr. Cheryl Evans and NOC Dean of Instruction Dr. Pam Stinson.