Stillwater News Press

July 28, 2012

People and Places 07-29-12

Stillwater NewsPress

—  • Kryston Griffin, a second-year medical student at Oklahoma State University’s College of Osteopathic Medicine, shadowed Dr. Jennifer Ferrell, D.O., at the Stillwater Medical Center as a part of a three-week summer externship in July. Griffin chose to participate in the program because she grew up in a small community and would like to become a rural primary care physician.  

Johnathon Daugherty of Stillwater, was named to the dean’s honor roll at Oklahoma City University. He is the son of Don Daugherty and the grandson of Art and Betty Daugherty.

 •Roy Peters, Ed. D., and Bruce Petty, Ph. D., both of Stillwater, have been named 2012 inductees into the Oklahoma Educators Hall of Fame. Peters is the state director and CEO of the Oklahoma Department of Vocational and Technical Education. Petty is an associate professor in the College of Education at Oklahoma State University.

• At the annual meeting of the Oklahoma Association of Youth Services, Payne County Youth Services Staff and members of the board of directors and advisory board for sustainability and public awareness were honored for their years of service to children and youth.  

Andrea Drain-Langston, Kimberly Coates and Angie Freeny, PCYS staff, were honored for five years of service.

 Ann Caine, ABSPA, was honored for 30 years of service, and Ann Halligan was honored for 40 years of service. Ann Hargis, also an ABSPA member, was honored for 40 years of service and Wes Horne and Loretta Hendrix, PCYS staff, were each honored for five years of service.

State Rep. Lee Denney, PCYS Board of Directors, was honored with the OAYS Kate Barnard Youth Advocate Award, the highest honor given by OAYS to legislators and others who advocate for children and youth in Oklahoma.