Stillwater News Press


December 5, 2012

Stillwater Sports Minute: Randle, Taylor unanimous All-Big 12

STILLWATER, Okla. — Oklahoma State coach Mike Gundy might want to clear some room in the Cowboys’ trophy case at Boone Pickens Stadium.

With the regular season over, the All-Big 12 awards were announced Wednesday. The Cowboys had two unanimous first-team selections in Joseph Randle and Lane Taylor and four first-team selections overall.

Quinn Sharp became the third Oklahoma State player in the last five years to earn the Special Teams Player of the Year. He was also the conference’s first-team punter and kicker.

Defensive lineman Calvin Barnett also earned first-team honors, while being named the Big 12’s Defensive Newcomer of the Year and quarterback J.W. Walsh was named the Offensive Freshman of the Year despite playing in only a handful of games. Walsh became the second Cowboy to earn Freshman of the Year honors, following Tony Lindsay in 1997.

Fullback Kye Staley earned second team honors, while defensive lineman James Castleman, wide receiver Josh Stewart, offensive lineman Parker Graham, and linebackers Caleb Lavey and Shaun Lewis were all-Big 12 honorable mentions. Kevin Peterson was also an honorable mention for Defensive Freshman of the Year.

In total the Cowboys racked up 15 all-Big 12 honors, trailing Oklahoma (27), Kansas State (23) and Texas (23).

Text Only | Photo Reprints
OSU Sports
High School Sports
Sports Columns