Stillwater News Press


July 12, 2013

Oklahoma State's Lowe on Thorpe watch list

STILLWATER, Okla. — Oklahoma State senior safety Daytawion Lowe has been named to the Jim Thorpe Award preseason watch list.

Lowe joins the recent parade of Cowboy defenders to be named to preseason watch lists, including Calvin Barnett, Justin Gilbert and Shaun Lewis.

The Jim Thorpe Award is one of the most coveted awards in college football. The award was established in 1986 and is named after history’s greatest all-around athlete, Jim Thorpe.  Thorpe excelled as a running back, passer and kicker on the offensive side of the ball, but also stood out as a defensive back.  In addition to his legendary performance on the football field, Thorpe played professional baseball and won Olympic gold medals in the decathlon and pentathlon.

In 2012, Lowe tied for the team lead with 75 tackles to go with two interceptions. He also returned a fumble for a touchdown against Purdue in the Heart of Dallas Bowl. Lowe has started 26 consecutive games for the Cowboys and leads the team in total tackles since 2011.

Along with Lowe, Tulsa safety Demarco Nelson is also one of the 48 finalists named to the award.

Nelson is a senior at Tulsa and was a second-team All-Conference USA selection last season. Nelson is also on the watch list for the Bronko Nagurski award given to the top defensive player in the nation.

The Thorpe award winner is selected from three finalists and will be announced at The Home Depot College Football Awards on Dec. 12 on ESPN. The Jim Thorpe Award Banquet will be held on Feb. 4 in Oklahoma City.

Oklahoma State opens the season against Mississippi State Aug. 31 in Houston, while Tulsa will open the season at Bowling Green on Aug. 29.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
OSU Sports
High School Sports
Sports Columns