Stillwater News Press

July 11, 2013

Trio of Cowboys on Nagurski watch list

By NewsPress Staff
Stillwater NewsPress

STILLWATER, Okla. — Oklahoma State football players continue to be added to preseason watch lists, the Football Writers Association of America has announced.

Three Cowboys appear on the watch list for the Nagurski Trophy with senior defensive tackle Calvin Barnett, senior cornerback Justin Gilbert and senior linebacker Shaun Lewis all making list.

Barnett, who had previously been named to the watch list for the Bednarik Award, has also been named as a preseason candidate for the Outland Trophy. Gilbert had previously been announced as a watch list member for the Hornung Award.

The Outland Trophy is presented annually to the nation's top interior lineman. The Nagurski Trophy is presented annually to the nation's top defensive player.

Barnett was a first-team All-Big 12 selection during his 2012 junior season and was named as the Big 12 defensive newcomer of the year. He has been a popular choice as a 2013 preseason All-America candidate.

Gilbert will enter 2013 with 26 straight starts under his belt at cornerback. One of the nation’s top kick returners, Gilbert was the defensive most valuable player in the 2012 Fiesta Bowl.

Lewis was a second-team All-Big 12 performer in 2012 as well as an academic all-conference selection.

The Outland Trophy winner is chosen from three finalists who are part of the FWAA All-America Team. The FWAA All-America Committee, after voting input from the entire membership, selects the 25-man team and eventually the three Outland finalists. Committee members, then by individual ballot, select the winner. Only interior linemen on offense or defense are eligible for the award; ends are not eligible. The list will be trimmed to six or seven semifinalists on Nov. 20. Five days later three Outland Trophy finalists will be named by the FWAA. The winner of the 68th Outland Trophy, named after the late John Outland, an All-America lineman at Penn at the turn of the 20th century, will be announced on ESPN on The HomeDepot College Football Awards on Dec. 12 from Disney's Boardwalk in Lake Buena Vista, Fla.

The Outland Trophy presentation banquet, sponsored by the Greater Omaha Sports Committee, will be held on Jan. 9 in Omaha, Neb. Five FWAA finalists are selected for the Nagurski Trophy. The annual Bronko Nagurski Trophy Banquet will be held on Dec. 9 at the Westin Hotel in Charlotte.