Stillwater News Press

May 3, 2011

What's Happening in and around Stillwater


Stillwater NewsPress

STILLWATER, Okla. — Tuesday, May 3

Stillwater Global Affairs Forum, 7 p.m., Stillwater Public Library. Speaker: Mark Elam.



Wednesday, May 4

Human trafficking training sessions, 8 a.m. to noon and 1 p.m. to 5 p.m., Stillwater Public Library. To enroll, e-mail sdelano@stillwater.org.

Stillwater Farmers’ Market, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m., Strickland Park.



Thursday, May 5

National Day of Prayer observance, noon to 1 p.m., Payne County Courthouse east lawn. Information: Tim Walker 372-5212.



Friday, May 6

OSU graduate student commencement, 7 p.m., Gallagher-Iba Arena.



Saturday, May 7

Stillwater Farmers’ Market, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m., Strickland Park.

OSU Botanic Garden open house, 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. Canceled in case of rain.

OSU undergraduate student commencement, Gallagher-Iba Arena. Ceremonies at 9:30 a.m., 12:30 p.m. and 4 p.m.



Sunday, May 8

Fraternal Order of Eagles Mother’s Day Brunch, 11 a.m. to 1 p.m., 409 S. Eagles Lane, 1/2 mile east of Fairgrounds Road on S.H. 51. Cost: $8 for adults and $4 for children ages 5-10 in advance; $9 for adults and $5 for children ages 5-10 at the door. Children under age 5 eat free. Proceeds benefit Aerie and Auxiliary charitable projects.



Tuesday, May 10

Friends of Lake McMurtry Association public input session, noon to 1 p.m., Stillwater Parks and Recreation, 315 E. Ninth Ave.



Wednesday, May 11

Special Olympics Oklahoma 2011 Summer Games, Oklahoma State University.

Stillwater Farmers’ Market, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m., Strickland Park.

Friends of Lake McMurtry Association public input session, noon to 1 p.m., Stillwater Parks and Recreation, 315 E. Ninth Ave.

Stillwater Special Athletes Booster Club picnic, 5 p.m. to 6:30 p.m., First United Methodist Church. Free.



Thursday, May 12

Special Olympics Oklahoma 2011 Summer Games, Oklahoma State University.



Friday, May 13

Special Olympics Oklahoma 2011 Summer Games, Oklahoma State University.



Saturday, May 14

Stillwater Farmers’ Market, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m., Strickland Park.



Tuesday, May 17

Coyle High School graduation, 7 p.m.



Wednesday, May 18

Stillwater Farmers’ Market, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m., Strickland Park.



Thursday, May 19

Mulhall-Orlando High School graduation, 6:30 p.m., Mulhall gym.



Friday, May 20

Pawnee High School graduation, 7:30 p.m.

Perkins-Tryon High School graduation, 8 p.m., McIlvain Field.



Saturday, May 21

Stillwater Farmers’ Market, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m., Strickland Park.

OSU Botanic Garden open house, 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. Canceled in case of rain.

“Born to Do Science,” 10 a.m., Stillwater Public Library. For children in grades three through five.

Glencoe High School graduation, 10 a.m., Glencoe gym.

Yale High School graduation, 10 a.m.

Ripley High School graduation, fairgrounds.



Wednesday, May 25

Stillwater Farmers’ Market, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m., Strickland Park.



Friday, May 27

Stillwater High School graduation, 8 p.m., Gallagher-Iba Arena.



Saturday, May 28

Stillwater Farmers’ Market, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m., Strickland Park.



Saturday, June 4

OSU Botanic Garden open house, 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. Canceled in case of rain.



Saturday, June 18

GardenFest, 10 a.m. to 4 p.m., OSU Botanic Garden.



Saturday, July 2

OSU Botanic Garden open house, 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. Canceled in case of rain.



Saturday, July 16

OSU Botanic Garden open house, 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. Canceled in case of rain.



Saturday, Aug. 6

OSU Botanic Garden open house, 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. Canceled in case of rain.



Saturday, Aug. 20

OSU Botanic Garden open house, 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. Canceled in case of rain.



Saturday, Sept. 3

OSU Botanic Garden open house, 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. Canceled in case of rain.



Saturday, Sept. 17

OSU Botanic Garden open house, 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. Canceled in case of rain.



Saturday, Oct. 1

OSU Botanic Garden open house, 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. Canceled in case of rain.



Saturday, Oct. 15

OSU Botanic Garden open house, 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. Canceled in case of rain.



E-mail What’s Happening submissions to events@stwnewspress.com. Post your events online on our calendar.