Stillwater News Press

June 6, 2012

What's Happening in the Stillwater area


Stillwater NewsPress

— Wednesday, June 6

Stillwater Farmers’ Market, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m., Strickland Park.

Intertribal Youth Celebration, 9 a.m.-3 p.m., Otoe-Missouria Tribal Complex, Red Rock.



Thursday, June 7

HOT ROD Magazine Power Tour, with 3,000 hot rods touring country, stops at Oklahoma State University for Thursday Cruise, noon-6 p.m. Initially planned at KICKER but moved to 413 Whitehurst Lane due to wet ground conditions.

Payne County Youth Services 40th anniversary come-and-go reception, 2 p.m.-6 p.m. Stillwater United Way Volunteer Center, 109 East Ninth Ave., 5 p.m. balloon and butterfly release.

Oklahoma All-State Soccer Games, Class 4A games at Pioneer Stadium, girls at 6 p.m.; boys 8 p.m.

Summer on the Plaza, starting 5 p.m. each Thursday through July 26, Oklahoma State University Student Union, dining, shopping, movies, live music, family entertainment. Live performances 7 p.m., free outdoor movies 9 p.m., shopping in the University Store until 8 p.m. Free parking after 5 p.m.



Friday, June 8

Cherokee Strip Riding Club rodeo, 8 p.m., at Perry.

Oklahoma All-State Soccer Games, Class 5A games at Pioneer Stadium, girls at 6 p.m.; boys 8 p.m.



Saturday, June 9

Stillwater Farmers’ Market, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m., Strickland Park.

First Baptist Church Community Block Party, 11 a.m.-3 p.m. Live music, inflatables, kids' activities, and food. Free . Contact Dustin Hicks at hickdd@hotmail.com.

Gail Schwettmann will sign copies of her book, “A Tangle Mangle Mess,” 1 p.m.-3p.m. at Hastings, Main and Hall of Fame.

Oklahoma All-State Soccer Games, Class 6A games at Pioneer Stadium, girls at 6 p.m.; boys at 8 p.m.

Cherokee Strip Riding Club rodeo, 8 p.m., at Perry.



Tuesday, June 12

Chris Reding, candidate for County Commission District 2 addresses Payne County Republican Women, noon, Spirit Bank.

Toolbar Tuesdays Community Benefit Discussion Series, noon-12:45 p.m., The Coffee House east meeting room, Third and Knoblock. For more information, visit www.stillwatercares.org. 

Tuesday Gardener Series fall gardening, preparing for Oklahoma’s second growing season, 6 p.m.-7:30 p.m., Payne County Expo Center, public.

Stillwater Community Band concert, 7 p.m., Stillwater Public Library east courtyard, 12th and Duncan.



 Relay For Life Stillwater Survivors team fundraiser, 6 p.m. to 10 p.m., Louie’s Grill and Bar.



Wednesday, June 13

Stillwater Farmers’ Market, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m., Strickland Park.



Thursday, June 14

Botanic Garden at OSU Brown Bag Lunch Series, 12:10 p.m. to 12:50 p.m. Speaker: Jacqui Savage, owner of Jacqui’s Herbs, “Garden Pesto Herbs.” Open to the public. Free for Botanic Garden members, $5 for others.

Summer on the Plaza, starting 5 p.m. each Thursday through July 26, Oklahoma State University Student Union, dining, shopping, movies, live music, family entertainment. Live performances 7 p.m., free outdoor movies 9 p.m., shopping in the University Store until 8 p.m. Free parking after 5 p.m.

Sheerar Museum of Stillwater History presents “A Country Fair at Yost Lake.”



Saturday, June 16

Stillwater Farmers’ Market, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m., Strickland Park.

Botanic Garden at OSU open house, 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. Open to the public. Free.

Pawnee Bill Wild West Show, Pawnee, military salute.



Wednesday, June 20

Stillwater Farmers’ Market, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m., Strickland Park.



Saturday, June 23

Stillwater Farmers’ Market, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m., Strickland Park.

Pawnee Bill Wild West Show, Pawnee.



Tuesday, June 26

Relay For Life Stillwater Survivors team fundraiser, 6 p.m. to 10 p.m., Da Vinci’s Italian Restaurant.



Wednesday, June 27

Stillwater Farmers’ Market, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m., Strickland Park.



Thursday

Summer on the Plaza, starting 5 p.m. each Thursday through July 26, Oklahoma State University Student Union, dining, shopping, movies, live music, family entertainment. Live performances 7 p.m., free outdoor movies 9 p.m., shopping in the University Store until 8 p.m. Free parking after 5 p.m.



Saturday, June 30

Stillwater Farmers’ Market, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m., Strickland Park.

Pawnee Bill Wild West Show, Pawnee.



Tuesday, July 3

Botanic Garden at OSU volunteer orientation, 8:20 a.m. to 11 a.m. Open to the public. Free.



Wednesday, July 4

Stillwater Farmers’ Market, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m., Strickland Park.



Thursday

Summer on the Plaza, starting 5 p.m. each Thursday through July 26, Oklahoma State University Student Union, dining, shopping, movies, live music, family entertainment. Live performances 7 p.m., free outdoor movies 9 p.m., shopping in the University Store until 8 p.m. Free parking after 5 p.m.



Saturday, July 7

Stillwater Farmers’ Market, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m., Strickland Park.

Botanic Garden at OSU open house, 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. Open to the public. Free.



Wednesday, July 11

Stillwater Farmers’ Market, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m., Strickland Park.



Thursday, July 12

Botanic Garden at OSU Brown Bag Lunch Series, 12:10 p.m. to 12:50 p.m. Speaker: Jason Vogel, assistant professor/extension stormwater specialist, “Water Collection.” Open to the public. Free for Botanic Garden members, $5 for others.

Summer on the Plaza, starting 5 p.m. each Thursday through July 26, Oklahoma State University Student Union, dining, shopping, movies, live music, family entertainment. Live performances 7 p.m., free outdoor movies 9 p.m., shopping in the University Store until 8 p.m. Free parking after 5 p.m.



Saturday, July 14

Stillwater Farmers’ Market, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m., Strickland Park.



Wednesday, July 18

Stillwater Farmers’ Market, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m., Strickland Park.



Thursday

Summer on the Plaza, starting 5 p.m. each Thursday through July 26, Oklahoma State University Student Union, dining, shopping, movies, live music, family entertainment. Live performances 7 p.m., free outdoor movies 9 p.m., shopping in the University Store until 8 p.m. Free parking after 5 p.m.



Saturday, July 21

Stillwater Farmers’ Market, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m., Strickland Park.

Botanic Garden at OSU open house, 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. Open to the public. Free.



Wednesday, July 25

Stillwater Farmers’ Market, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m., Strickland Park.

Thursday

Summer on the Plaza, starting 5 p.m. Oklahoma State University Student Union, dining, shopping, movies, live music, family entertainment. Live performances 7 p.m., free outdoor movies 9 p.m., shopping in the University Store until 8 p.m. Free parking after 5 p.m.



Saturday, July 28

Stillwater Farmers’ Market, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m., Strickland Park.



Wednesday, Aug. 1

Stillwater Farmers’ Market, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m., Strickland Park.



Saturday, Aug. 4

Stillwater Farmers’ Market, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m., Strickland Park.

Botanic Garden at OSU open house, 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. Open to the public. Free.



Tuesday, Aug. 7

Botanic Garden at OSU volunteer orientation, 8:20 a.m. to 11 a.m. Open to the public. Free.



Wednesday, Aug. 8

Stillwater Farmers’ Market, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m., Strickland Park.



Thursday, Aug. 9

Botanic Garden at OSU Brown Bag Lunch Series, 12:10 p.m. to 12:50 p.m. Speaker: Laura Payne, The Botanic Garden at OSU volunteer coordinator/field producer, “Living Art.” Open to the public. Free for Botanic Garden members, $5 for others.



Saturday, Aug. 11

Stillwater Farmers’ Market, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m., Strickland Park.



Wednesday, Aug. 15

Stillwater Farmers’ Market, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m., Strickland Park.



Saturday, Aug. 18

Stillwater Farmers’ Market, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m., Strickland Park.

Botanic Garden at OSU open house, 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. Open to the public. Free.



Wednesday, Aug. 22

Stillwater Farmers’ Market, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m., Strickland Park.



Saturday, Aug. 25

Stillwater Farmers’ Market, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m., Strickland Park.



Wednesday, Aug. 29

Stillwater Farmers’ Market, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m., Strickland Park.



Saturday, Sept. 1

Stillwater Farmers’ Market, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m., Strickland Park.

Botanic Garden at OSU open house, 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. Open to the public. Free.



Tuesday, Sept. 4

Botanic Garden at OSU volunteer orientation, 8:20 a.m. to 11 a.m. Open to the public. Free.



Wednesday, Sept. 5

Stillwater Farmers’ Market, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m., Strickland Park.



Saturday, Sept. 8

Stillwater Farmers’ Market, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m., Strickland Park.



Wednesday, Sept. 12

Stillwater Farmers’ Market, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m., Strickland Park.



Thursday, Sept. 13

Botanic Garden at OSU Brown Bag Lunch Series, 12:10 p.m. to 12:50 p.m. Speaker: Steve Dobbs, horticulturalist, garden writer and lecturer, “Vertical Gardening on the Rise.” Open to the public. Free for Botanic Garden members, $5 for others.



Saturday, Sept. 15

Stillwater Farmers’ Market, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m., Strickland Park.

Botanic Garden at OSU open house, 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. Open to the public. Free.



Wednesday, Sept. 19

Stillwater Farmers’ Market, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m., Strickland Park.



Saturday, Sept. 22

Stillwater Farmers’ Market, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m., Strickland Park.



Wednesday, Sept. 26

Stillwater Farmers’ Market, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m., Strickland Park.



Saturday, Sept. 29

Stillwater Farmers’ Market, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m., Strickland Park.



Tuesday, Oct. 2

Botanic Garden at OSU volunteer orientation, 8:20 a.m. to 11 a.m. Open to the public. Free.



Wednesday, Oct. 3

Stillwater Farmers’ Market, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m., Strickland Park.



Saturday, Oct. 6

Stillwater Farmers’ Market, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m., Strickland Park.

Botanic Garden at OSU GardenFest, 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. Open to the public. Free.



Wednesday, Oct. 10

Stillwater Farmers’ Market, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m., Strickland Park.



Thursday, Oct. 11

Botanic Garden at OSU Brown Bag Lunch Series, 12:10 p.m. to 12:50 p.m. Speaker: Todd Lasseigne, Oklahoma Centennial Botanical Garden executive director, “Role of Botanical Gardens in Preserving Horticultural Plant Germplasm.” Open to the public. Free for Botanic Garden members, $5 for others.



Saturday, Oct. 13

Stillwater Farmers’ Market, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m., Strickland Park.



Wednesday, Oct. 17

Stillwater Farmers’ Market, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m., Strickland Park.



Saturday, Oct. 20

Stillwater Farmers’ Market, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m., Strickland Park.

Botanic Garden at OSU open house, 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. Open to the public. Free.



Wednesday, Oct. 24

Stillwater Farmers’ Market, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m., Strickland Park.



Saturday, Oct. 27

Stillwater Farmers’ Market, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m., Strickland Park.



Email activity information for What’s Happening to events@stwnewspress.com.