Stillwater News Press

July 11, 2012

What's Happening


Stillwater NewsPress

STILLWATER, Okla. — Thursday, July 12, 2012

Botanic Garden at OSU Brown Bag Lunch Series, 12:10 p.m. to 12:50 p.m. Speaker Dr. Dwayne Elmore, professor in natural resources, ecology and management, "Firewise Landscaping" Open to the public. Free for Botanic Garden members, $5 for others.

Summer on the Plaza, OSU Student Union. Bounce house opens at 5 p.m. Concert by Americana band Chuckwagon, 5:30 p.m. Artist demonstration by illustrator Tim Jessell, 7 p.m. Outdoor movie, The Hunger Games, 9 p.m. Free parking in the Student Union Garage after 5 p.m.

Payne County Clerk Linda Hatfield to address Payne County Democrats, 6:30 p.m., 302 N. Main. Public. Call 405-533-5310 or visit paynecountydemocrats.org for more information.

The Adult Summer Reading Program, Cushing Library, 6:30 p.m. kickoff and registration.

Friday


Cool Classics Summer Concert Series, Appassionata Viola Harp Duo, 7:30 p.m. at Sheerar Center Auditorium, Seventh and Duncan, free.



Saturday

Stillwater Farmers’ Market, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m., Strickland Park.

Car seat check-up and distribution, 9 a.m. to noon at Fire Station #1, 1510 S. Main St., hosted by Stillwater Fire Department and Safe Kids Oklahoma.

Cherokee HCE/Cottonwood Community Center ice cream social, 6:30 p.m., Cottonwood Community Center. Bring ice cream or finger deserts to share.



Sunday

Aunt Judy’s Misfits Relay for Life Team fundraiser, Family Fun at White Barns Estaes, 3 p.m. to 8 p.m.; Oklahoma Company Cowboys concert, 7 p.m.



Tuesday, July 17

Free lunch, noon to 1 p.m., First Presbyterian Church, 524 S. Duncan.



Wednesday, July 18

Stillwater Farmers’ Market, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m., Strickland Park.



Thursday, July 19

Summer on the Plaza, starting 5 p.m. Oklahoma State University Student Union, dining, shopping, movies, live music, family entertainment. Live performances 7 p.m., free outdoor movies 9 p.m., shopping in the University Store until 8 p.m. Free parking after 5 p.m.

Movie premiere of The Point Four Documentary - Part Two, 6:30 p.m., Wes Watkins Center Auditorium. Free. Hosted by Oklahoma State University Division of International Studies and Outreach.

Friday, July 20

Cool Classics Summer Concert Series, Students of Stillwater, 7:30 p.m. at Sheerar Center Auditorium 7th and Duncan St. Free admission.

Movie premiere of The Point Four Documentary - Part Two, 10 a.m., 12 p.m. and 2 p.m. in the Wes Watkins Center Auditorium. Free. Hosted by Oklahoma State University Division of International Studies and Outreach.



Saturday, July 21

Stillwater Farmers’ Market, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m., Strickland Park.

Botanic Garden at OSU open house, 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. Free.

Yale Sizzlin Summer Cruz’N’ car show, 1 p.m. to 4 p.m., Jim Thorpe Park, Pony rides, bounce houses and vendors, NASCAR racer Michael Waltrip and his car. Proceeds benefit the American Cancer Society.

Holiday International Circus, 4:30 p.m. and 6 p.m., rodeo arena at Jim Thorpe Park, Yale. Admission $6.

Mobile spay-neuter clinic, sponsored by Companion Animal Assistance Program, Payne County Expo Center. Open to limited-income pet owners. Call 405-385-4140 to register dog or cat.



Sunday, July 22

Holiday International Circus, 2 p.m. and 5 p.m., rodeo arena at Jim Thorpe Park, Yale. Admission $6.



Tuesday, July 24

Free lunch, noon to 1 p.m. First Presbyterian Church, 524 S. Duncan.

Wednesday, July 25

Stillwater Farmers’ Market, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m., Strickland Park.



Thursday

Summer on the Plaza, starting 5 p.m. Oklahoma State University Student Union, dining, shopping, movies, live music, family entertainment. Live performances 7 p.m., free outdoor movies 9 p.m., shopping in the University Store until 8 p.m. Free parking after 5 p.m.



Friday, July 27

Morrison High School alumni reunion, 6 p.m., Morrison Activity Center.

Cool Classics Summer Concert Series, Amy Cottingham, 7:30 p.m. at Sheerar Center Auditorium 7th and Duncan St. Free Admission.



Saturday, July 28

Stillwater Farmers’ Market, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m., Strickland Park.

Morrison Community Barbecue, 6:30 p.m., Morrison Park pavilion. Christian Hearts band will play and  there will be a fireworks show at dusk.



Tuesday, July 29

Free lunch, noon to 1 p.m., First Presbyterian Church, 524 S. Duncan.



Wednesday, Aug. 1

Stillwater Farmers’ Market, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m., Strickland Park.



Saturday, Aug. 4

Stillwater Farmers’ Market, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m., Strickland Park.

Botanic Garden at OSU open house, 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. Open to the public. Free.



Tuesday, Aug. 7

Botanic Garden at OSU volunteer orientation, 8:20 a.m. to 11 a.m. Open to the public. Free.

Free lunch, noon to 1 p.m., First Presbyterian Church, 524 S. Duncan.



Wednesday, Aug. 8

Stillwater Farmers’ Market, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m., Strickland Park.



Thursday, Aug. 9

Botanic Garden at OSU Brown Bag Lunch Series, 12:10 p.m. to 12:50 p.m. Speaker: Laura Payne, The Botanic Garden at OSU volunteer coordinator/field producer, “Living Art.” Open to the public. Free for Botanic Garden members, $5 for others.



Saturday, Aug. 11

Stillwater Farmers’ Market, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m., Strickland Park.



Wednesday, Aug. 15

Stillwater Farmers’ Market, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m., Strickland Park.



Saturday, Aug. 18

Stillwater Farmers’ Market, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m., Strickland Park.

Botanic Garden at OSU open house, 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. Open to the public. Free.



Wednesday, Aug. 22

Stillwater Farmers’ Market, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m., Strickland Park.



Saturday, Aug. 25

Stillwater Farmers’ Market, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m., Strickland Park.



Wednesday, Aug. 29

Stillwater Farmers’ Market, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m., Strickland Park.



Saturday, Sept. 1

Stillwater Farmers’ Market, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m., Strickland Park.

Botanic Garden at OSU open house, 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. Open to the public. Free.



Tuesday, Sept. 4

Botanic Garden at OSU volunteer orientation, 8:20 a.m. to 11 a.m. Open to the public. Free.



Wednesday, Sept. 5

Stillwater Farmers’ Market, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m., Strickland Park.



Saturday, Sept. 8

Stillwater Farmers’ Market, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m., Strickland Park.



Wednesday, Sept. 12

Stillwater Farmers’ Market, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m., Strickland Park.



Thursday, Sept. 13

Botanic Garden at OSU Brown Bag Lunch Series, 12:10 p.m. to 12:50 p.m. Speaker: Steve Dobbs, horticulturalist, garden writer and lecturer, “Vertical Gardening on the Rise.” Open to the public. Free for Botanic Garden members, $5 for others.



Saturday, Sept. 15

Stillwater Farmers’ Market, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m., Strickland Park.

Botanic Garden at OSU open house, 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. Open to the public. Free.



Wednesday, Sept. 19

Stillwater Farmers’ Market, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m., Strickland Park.



Saturday, Sept. 22

Stillwater Farmers’ Market, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m., Strickland Park.



Wednesday, Sept. 26

Stillwater Farmers’ Market, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m., Strickland Park.



Saturday, Sept. 29

Stillwater Farmers’ Market, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m., Strickland Park.



Tuesday, Oct. 2

Botanic Garden at OSU volunteer orientation, 8:20 a.m. to 11 a.m. Open to the public. Free.



Wednesday, Oct. 3

Stillwater Farmers’ Market, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m., Strickland Park.



Saturday, Oct. 6

Stillwater Farmers’ Market, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m., Strickland Park.

Botanic Garden at OSU GardenFest, 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. Open to the public. Free.



Wednesday, Oct. 10

Stillwater Farmers’ Market, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m., Strickland Park.



Thursday, Oct. 11

Botanic Garden at OSU Brown Bag Lunch Series, 12:10 p.m. to 12:50 p.m. Speaker: Todd Lasseigne, Oklahoma Centennial Botanical Garden executive director, “Role of Botanical Gardens in Preserving Horticultural Plant Germplasm.” Open to the public. Free for Botanic Garden members, $5 for others.



Saturday, Oct. 13

Stillwater Farmers’ Market, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m., Strickland Park.



Wednesday, Oct. 17

Stillwater Farmers’ Market, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m., Strickland Park.



Saturday, Oct. 20

Stillwater Farmers’ Market, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m., Strickland Park.

Botanic Garden at OSU open house, 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. Open to the public. Free.



Wednesday, Oct. 24

Stillwater Farmers’ Market, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m., Strickland Park.



Saturday, Oct. 27

Stillwater Farmers’ Market, 8 a.m. to 1 p.m., Strickland Park.



Email activity information for What’s Happening to events@stwnewspress.com.