Stillwater orthodontist talks at national meeting

The year 2012 was a busy year for Stillwater orthodontist, Dr. C. Edwin Polk. Besides a busy full-time orthodontic practice, Polk completed a fifth term as an examiner for the American Board of Orthodontists. He considers the opportunity to promote board certification and evaluate treated orthodontic cases of his peers one of his highest honors.

After several months of intense preparation, Polk presented a 40-minute lecture before 800 attendees at the annual national meeting of the American Association of Orthodontists. His presentation titled “Forces for Faces” demonstrated that the face is the first aspect in orthodontic diagnosis. Different biomechanical forces are needed to maintain or improve the facial profile with numerous influencing factors.        

Year 2013 will also be busy with a lecture for the University of Oklahoma orthodontic residents in March. In April, Polk will be an orthodontic instructor for the 16th time during the orthodontic graduate two-week Tweed Foundation for Orthodontic Research Study Course. For more information visit

Bailey Family scholarship winners announced

Oklahoma State University has named winners of the Bailey Family Memorial Trust Scholarships, allowing full-time OSU students to study liberal arts abroad.  Brannon Frank is a senior from Cushing who spent the semester in Egypt. Sam Hines of Stillwater spent the summer in Spain.  Other winners included Blake Barguieras of St. Peters, Mo., who spent the fall semester in Japan. Kaitlyn Gibson of Mesquite, Texas, is in Spain for the school year. Shane Hewson of Broken Arrow spent the fall semester in Chili. Morgan Maxey of Vinita spent the fall semester in England.

Several Stillwater High students earn all-state honors

After two to three rounds of auditions against the best players in the district and state, several Stillwater High School students have been named to the All-State Band and the All-State Orchestra. Seniors Ben Miles, flute, and Bret Patterson, trumpet, have been selected as All-State musicians each of the three years they have been eligible. Other students selected for All-State Band are Heather Deal, bassoon; Alex Pina, clarinet; Riley Payton, saxophone; Kobe Reeves, saxophone; Jesse Eick, trumpet; Taylor Brown, French horn and Isaac Johnson, trombone. All-State Orchestra honors were garnered by Ashlin Hunter, piccolo; Diana Li, flute; Morgan Atkins, oboe and Olivia Fletcher, bassoon. First-chair selections included Payton, Johnson, Hunter, Li and Fletcher.

Recommended for you