Flood waters

Several homes in Payne County received water damage during the May 21 flooding. 

Payne County has been added to the list of counties that the Federal Emergency Management Agency has approved for disaster assistance following the flooding. 

According to Gov. Kevin Stitt's office, the state's request for disaster assistance was also extended to Delaware, Kay, Mayes, Okmulgee, Pottawatomie and Sequoyah counties. The first federal assistance was approved for Canadian, Creek, Logan, Muskogee, Osage, Ottawa, Rogers, Tulsa, Wagoner and Washington counties. 

All of the counties were impacted by either flooding, tornadoes, severe storms or straight-line winds. The assistance can be used by individuals or business owners. It would allow for things like housing repairs, temporary housing, U.S. Small Business Administration low-interest loans for individuals and businesses to repair or replace damaged property, disaster unemployment assistance, and grants for serious needs and necessary disaster expenses not met by other programs, according to the news release. 

"Gov. Stitt stressed that the state will continue to request additional counties be added to the Individual Assistance Major Disaster Declaration as damage assessments of impacted homes and businesses are completed," the release states.

Individuals and business owners can call 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or go online at www.disasterassistance.gov to apply for FEMA assistance. There may also be Disaster Survivor Assistance Teams on site in the declared counties to help people register.

Recommended for you